Share

Because I’m Letting You Go

This year seems to be a year for letting go. Most would think that this is about love, the painful kind of love that we all go crazy. Yes, this is about love, but this is a different kind of love. It is called Friendship.

I’ve met many people in this place, and it hurts to know that they are moving on. They may have accepted it already, but most of the time, I haven’t. I probably learned about it too late that I have not enjoyed much of your company or appreciate it because you are always around or let you know how amazing you are. Because I’m letting you go, I would still see you when someone smiles at me. When I log in to our messaging tool, I will wait for you to chat with me, but I would feel bad because of the hours/days when your last login would remind me that you have moved on. When I hear laughter, I remember our happy moments together—even those low points when we shared tears. When I’m sad, I will look at your empty seat. When I listen to my playlist, I would remember the kind of music we like. Break time would remind me not only about food but our impromptu meetings about everything. Discussions would include the latest news, the events we wanted to organize or attend, our crazy antics, who has a new haircut, who just climbed this and that mountain, the latest celebrity news, politics, and kid’s birthday. Some moments include the sad and sometimes heartbreaking story, the death of our friend, the future, our fears, rejections, and mostly our hopes and dreams. We shared so much.

Because I’m letting you go, please indulge me more time. More time to hug you more, more time to say thank you, and more time to be ready to say, “See you again, my friend.”

Leave a comment